Does your writing suck?

I don’t know about you, but after reading several query letters, sending mine out to ten agents and waiting, self doubt creeps again.

I’ve heard and read numerous times that writers fit into the depressive, self doubters and overall hopeless spirit stereotypes. We start out being optimistic and end up feeling like crap when those rejection slips come in absurd numbers.

Does your writing suck or do you need to grow thicker skin and keep trying?

Two words I keep hearing over and over and over and over and over (O.K. You get it…) again:

KEEP WRITING!

The difference between an aspiring writer and a published author comes down to one thing: perseverance.

Luck seldom plays a part in it. As cliché as it may sound, we build are own luck.

2 thoughts on “Does your writing suck?

  1. I completely agree. For three years, I remained optimistic about my story, and then the day I sent off that first batch of query letters, I doubted my project like never before. Once I started receiving rejections? I *really* doubted myself, my abilities, my story, my dream, everything. I can believe the thing about writers tending to fit that depressive type of personality, because it takes very little rejection or critique to get us down.

    Great post and advice, Limari!

    • Thank you Ashley for the compliments and for taking the time to comment on my post. Keep writing girl! I know for sure your “dream agent” is waiting out there for your query to arrive. 🙂

Leave a comment